Igbere Ebiri Scholarship Scheme Presents Cheques To 5 Awardees – By Obike Ukoh

Abakaliki, March 7, 2009: ( NAN ): The former Vice-Chancellor of Abia State University, Uturu, Prof. Ogwo Ekeoma Ogwo has urged students to take their studies seriously as there is no short cut to success.

Ogwo spoke on Friday March 6, 2009 at Igbere, Bende Local Government Area of Abia, when he presented cheaques to five undergraduates, 2009 winners of the Igbere Ebiri Scholarship Scheme.

A statement by secretary of the Scheme, Dr. Eme Ekekwe and made available to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), today in Abakaliki said each awardee will receive N90,000.

The statement quotes Ogwo as saying that the Scholarship Scheme, “was merely a token by which those
who established it, sought to encourage youths in the community to become useful members of society and
contribute to the development of Nigeria.’’.

The Igbere Ebiri Scholarship Scheme, originally the brain child of Igbere sons and daughters resident in Texas , in the United States of America , was established in 2008 when it kicked off with awards to three university students.

The scheme was formally launched in December 2008 during the triennial Ezumezu ceremony in Igbere, when it was expanded to embrace all Igbere sons and daughters who shared the commitment to help direct the education of the youths.

Ogwo who is the chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Scheme said the 2009 awards were made on the basis of the academic performance and good conduct of the awardees.

“Each year the Board establishes the criteria by which awards would be made before applications are invited from university students,’’ Ogwo who was also the pioneer Vice-Chancellor,  Renaissance University , Enugu noted.

Speaking on behalf of the awardees, Mr. Williams Ukaegbu Orji, a fourth year student of Electrical/ Electronics Engineering at the Federal University of Technology, Owerri (FUTO), thanked the brains behind the Scheme and promised that he and his colleagues would ensure they made the best  use of the opportunity granted them by the scholarship. (NAN).

Scholarship Award
The Igbere Ebiri Scholarship Board has announced the award of Scholarships to the following Igbere students:

1. KALU UCHECHUKWU       FUTO (Ibina ukwu)
2. ORJI W. UKAEGBU             FUTO (Eziama)
3. UCHE C. OKOROAFOR,     FUTO (Amankalu)
4. MESHACK E. EKEOMA      FUTO (Amankalu)

The announcement was made after the board reviewed all submitted applications with respect to the eligibility and qualification that satisfy stated scholarship criteria.

Each of these students would receive the sum of Ninety Thousand Naira (N90,000.00) for the 2008/2009 academic session.

Written by Obike Ukoh

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply